Book Review: My Single Mom Life

Standard

Several years ago, as my marriage was crumbling, I came across this book at Walmart and I snatched it up immediately.  When the Good Lord hands you a guide to the next phase of your life, you grab it, of course.

It was this book that helped me to understand that my new life was not a tragedy, but an opportunity to make a better life for me and my kids.  An amazing life.

The author, Angela Thomas, found herself in a life she didn’t choose as the single mom of 4 children.  Her first response was to fall apart and grieve for 3 long months.   With the encouragement of her parents and a bossy friend, she turned to her faith and began to piece together her life and bring a wholeness to her family.  In an ironic turn, she sold her wedding ring to buy furniture for their first home and with that, began to feel like they were going to make it.

As she walked this journey, she shares her experiences in solo-parenting, finances, dating, setting boundaries and changing her perspective.  While it is an uplifting story with practical advice on how to put one foot in front of the other and decide to have an amazing life, she shares her lonely-mom side, too.  She skewers the idea that since we have children, that we are never lonely.  We are.  God made us for companionship.

She has a wonderfully wholesome outlook, using her faith in God to establish a framework for her Single Mom Life.  There is no bitterness here.  There is no blame.  Her story is about taking survival to the next level.  It’s about living with integrity and passion.  It’s about thriving in your circumstance.

Her storytelling style is an easy read and with a graduate degree in Theology, she carries her spirituality through out the entire book.

I bought this book 5 years ago.   It gave me hope and conviction that the kids and I will have a great life together and that my faith and my attitude was going to make all the difference for me and for them.  I have read it again each year and I find something different each time that I can apply to my life at the given moment.

I recommend this book to anyone who is a Single Mom or preparing for life as a Single Mom.  Whether you are surviving or thriving, you will find this book to be inspirational.

~Dona~

Leave a Reply

