Bulletin Bloom

Standard

I won’t pretend to be design savvy.  In fact, sometimes it looks better in my head than it does in the actual rendering of the idea.  With that said, you will see a change in direction as this project unfolds.

I’m stepping out of my comfort zone with the colors I am incorporating in this Home Office Makeover.  I usually chose very neutral colors to decorate with and now I am trying to make bright colors work together in a way that create an upbeat and soothing work space.  This is definitely a challenge for a girl who will buy bright colored clothes, but then leave them hanging in the closet the entire season.

I have this bulletin board in my office that is quite functional, and again, dull dull dull.

The most interesting part of this bulletin board is the tree next to it.

Time for a makeover!

Even the blue painter’s tape is a bit more exciting……

Once I have the cork properly covered, it time to give this board a fresh coat of paint.

A few light coats of Rustoleum Silk Ivory in a Satin Finish.  Light coats dry faster and avoid runs.

To give the frame an aged look…..I added some brown pigment ink.  I patted and rubbed the ink pad around the frame.  After letting it set for about 20 minutes, I used a soft cloth to smooth out the finish.  Then, I sprayed it with 3 light coats of clear gloss and let it sit for about 24 hours to let the paint fully cure.

Now for some fun with color.

First, I cut the fabric just a big larger than the cork and then covered the painted edges with tape.  This will protect the paint from the adhesive spray.

This high performance spray will provide several levels of adhesion.  A light spray will give a temporary bond and a medium spray on both the pieces (cork) and (fabric) will give a stronger bond.  I chose the light spray option because a medium to heavy spray would give the fabric a stiff, wet look.  I wouldn’t recommend regular glue for that same reason.

Once the adhesive was lightly sprayed, focusing on edges and corners, I applied the fabric much like applying wallpaper, smoothing out the bubbles and wrinkles from one corner to the next.

Using a straight edge and a sharp cutting tool, I trimmed the excess fabric.

Then used an iron (no steam) to help smooth and set the fabric.

With a hot glue gun, I added the cording to the frame giving the piece even more dimensions.

Viola!

Except….. I didn’t like it. FAIL!

I loved the fabric, but the frame was a bit too antique-y for what I was going for.  (I plan to use that technique on another project you will see this week.)

Back to the drawing board…. so to speak!

I was all ready to write this blog, but I just wasn’t happy with it.  So, I took another stab at it with a bolder color.

I taped it up again and started painting….. this time, with some Rustoleum Key Lime Gloss.

SUCCESS!  I am much happier with the results.

So Pretty!  Want to see a side by side comparison of the two different frame colors?

Amazing the difference!  The bright color gives that field of flowers a solid edge and  the white mats just pop!  The colors simply appear clearer.

I decorated the Bulletin Board with Photo Mats ($1 Store) and Clear Push Pins to make a very functional and pretty Photo Board.  I can move the mats around depending the my current favorite photos.

Pin It

If you want to add this to one of your Pinterest Boards, then choose the “Pin It” button above

Also, I printed out some beautiful clip art and placed them in some of the mats.  All in all, I am loving this Decor Renovation!

Project Cost

1/2 yard of Fabric – $3

Adhesive Spray – $4

Cording – $2

Spray Paint – $4

Total $14

Do you have a bulletin board that needs some love?  Are bright colors out of your comfort zone?  Don’t you just love how easy it is to change colors, like a chameleon?  Let me know what you think.

~Dona~

One response »

  1. I like this project very much!! Bulletin boards, in and of themselves, are, as you said, …”..blah” This redo looks easy enough to accomplish and what a BIG difference it makes!! I especially the photo frames on the BB.. I’m always looking for ways to show photos of family and friends…

Leave a Reply

