Adventures of a Single Mom – Camping

Standard
Adventures of a Single Mom – Camping

A few weeks ago, I realized that this coming May will signify 5 years since I started this Single Mom gig.  I am shocked how fast this time has passed and it started me thinking back to the beginning ….. and our first adventure as a threesome!

Camping!

I have such great memories of camping when I was a kid. We camped with other families, so there were plenty of us kids running free through the woods, the streams, the campsites.  Our days were filled with exploration and fishing and swimming; Our nights were filled with roasting marshmallows and singing songs around the campfire with my Daddy and my Mom strumming guitars.

My mom, my big sister, me and my little brother and our dog in front of our tent.

My dad doing dishes in our camping kitchen.

Those adventures ended when my parents separated.

I wanted my kids to have these kinds of  memories, too, but instead of ending with a marriage, our adventures began at the end.  Are you following this?

Knowing that their dad was moving out as soon as his new place was ready, I was looking for something they could be excited about post-D Day.

I cannot remember what my inspiration was, but I knew without a “certain someone” to nix all my grand plans, the possibilities were endless.  I found a place that rented popup campers and booked a weekend in May along with a recommendation to a local lakeside campground.  I also had to borrow a truck to haul the camper and who in Texas doesn’t have a truck, except me.

Another great memory from my childhood.... all of my family and my mom's family piled into our popup

My mom got so excited about my plans, that she booked a camper for her and my step-dad and they joined us for the weekend.

So Friday after work, we headed to the local campsite and me and kids figured out how to set up a pop-up camper.  Success!!!

We built our very own, no lighter-fluid used, camp fire and roasted hot dogs for our dinner.

We slept comfortably and I even figured out how to make a bacon and egg breakfast in that tiny little kitchen.

We took long walks to the bathrooms and had a great time checking out the amenities.

We fished with leftover hotdogs and didn’t catch a thing.  The kids rode bikes and I took pictures of stuff.

We celebrated my Step Dad’s birthday, and roasted marshmallows and made S’mores.

We grilled burgers and did fun things with my camera and their little camping lanterns.

We fished some more and watched the ducks and my son accidentally threw his sister’s fishing rod into the lake trying to master his casting.

And on Sunday, we brought our first “Threesome” adventure to a close and packed up and went home.

And so began our love affair with camping……

And 6 months later, Santa (Mom) surprised the kids with our very own (used) PopUp camper!

But not before my parents ran out and bought this…..

and we became a camping family once again.

Yep, the guy with the cap and cigarette is the same little boy from the picture at the beginning…..

~Dona~

11 responses »

  1. Thank you so much for sharing this :) I became a single mom just about a year ago and this spring, as I was thinking about the upcoming summer, I was determined to plan a camping trip (or two) with my 5-year-old daughter. She loves camping, she loves the outdoors, and I didn’t want her to not have the chance to make those memories just because mom and dad split. So, I booked a campsite at a local state campground with a lovely lake and am doing some planning- we go in a few weeks. I’m facing some criticism about going just the two of us (my parents might decide to book a site as well) but after doing some reading, I’m confident we can have a great time!

    • I am so glad you took the time to share your story with me and let me know that my post was helpful in some way. You totally made my day. Enjoy your camping trip and let me know how it went. :)

  2. Im a single mom my self, my son is 7 and I have been wanting to go out just the two of us on a camping adventure. Thought it would be wierd just the two of us , but why was I thinking that. Your story sounds like lots of fun and I told my son if he would mind going alone just the two of us. His reply was “we are not alone, I’m with you and your with me, thats not alone” He is an awesome kid.

  3. I have been a single mom for the last 8 years (3 kids, now 21, 18 and 15). We have taken camping trips, driven across the US and my son and I (middle child), backpack for several nights in the high sierra’s by ourselves for 3 days each summer. I say go for it. You will be so glad you did.

  4. Love this!! We were a camping threesome when I grew up. My single mom took us every summer. My brother was 8 years older so when he joined the military it was just mom and me. Now my husband and I love to camp! We use tents (with a blow up matress!) Would love to get a used camper though!

  5. Thank you for this post about taking your first camping trip as a single mom. I want to do this – i GOOGLED “single moms who camp” LOL! My youngest said he wanted us to go for his B-day – how can I refuse that? I will need to brave the campfire and the tent set up myself (with my oldest son’s help – he is 14), but I think I can do this! Sometimes all we need is a little support and inspiration.

  6. I’m extremely impressed together with your writing abilities and also with the structure for your blog. Is that this a paid subject or did you customize it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it’s uncommon to see a great weblog like this one today.
    .

  7. Thank you for this. I Googled “single mom with 2 toddlers camping” and found this page. I’ve been so overwhelmed keeping it all together for me and the babies by myself for the last year. I’ve been grieving the family trips/activities that were and that won’t be. I bought a tent and set it up in the living room last night with the kids (ages 2 years and almost 4). I am determined to create happy, family memories. Seeing these pictures and reading about your adventure is inspiring. I CAN do this. :)

Leave a Reply

